Region Covered by Tasman District

The Tasman District covers 9,786 square kilometres and is bounded to the west by the Matiri Ranges, Tasman Mountains and the Tasman Sea. To the north Tasman and Golden Bays form its seaward edge, and the eastern boundary reaches the Spencer Mountains and the St Arnaud and Richmond Ranges to the southern boundary of the Victoria Ranges.

Within this area there are five wards and 17 settlements. The largest ward, Richmond, borders Nelson in the north of the region.

Five Wards, 17 Settlements

Golden Bay Ward

Lakes-Murchison Ward

Motueka Ward

Moutere-Waimea Ward

Richmond Ward

The settlement of Richmond, the largest in the District, is a ward in its own right.

Related Links