District Licensing Committee

The Tasman District Licensing Committee has been established to deal with all alcohol licensing matters for the District.

The Committee will make decisions on applications for:

  • New On, Off and Club licences
  • Manager's Certificates
  • Special Licences
  • Renewal of all Licences and Manager's Certificates
  • Temporary Authority

The District Licensing Committee is made up of a Chairperson and two of three appointed community members.

For most licence applications, if there are no objections from the public or opposition from the reporting authorities (Police, the Medical Officer of Health, and the Council's Licensing Inspectors), applications can be granted by the chairperson without the need for a public hearing.  

When dealing with temporary authorities, or other applications in which there are objections or opposition, the full District Licensing Committee must sit with a quorum of three.  These will sometimes be public hearings. If a public hearing is required, the applicant and objectors will be notified.

Decisions on all applications determined by the District Licensing Committee can be found by following the link below to District Licensing Committee Meetings. 


  • Cr David Ogilvie (Chair)
  • Cr Stuart Bryant (Deputy)
  • Approved Members:
    • David Lewis
    • Laurie Gabites
    • Michael Fitzsimons

Related Links