Local Body Elections 2013

This section archives the respresentation arrangements for the Tasman District Council and Nelson Marlborough District Health Board 2013 elections.

Tasman District Council Election 2013

For the 2013 elections Tasman District Council will be divided into five wards, and require the following positions:

  • Mayor
  • Councillors:
    • Golden Bay Ward - two councillors
    • Lakes/Murchison Ward – one councillor
    • Moutere/Waimea Ward - three councillors
    • Motueka Ward - three councillors
    • Richmond Ward - four councillors
  • Community Boards:
    • Motueka Community Board – four members
    • Golden Bay Community Board – four members

Final Result

Results after the third and final count.

Preliminary Results

Results after the second count.

Progressive Results

Results after the first count.

Candidate Profiles

Election Timetable

Meet the Candidates Meetings


Nelson/Marlborough District Health Board Elections 2013

Seven members will be elected at large for the Nelson/Marlborough District Health Board during the 2013 election. This Board covers the Marlborough District, Nelson City and Tasman District Councils.

Electoral System

The First Past the Post (FPP) electoral system will be used for Tasman District Council elections and the Nelson/Marlborough District Health Board elections will use the Single Transferable Voting (STV) electoral system.

In the FPP system, electors vote by indicating their preferred candidate(s), and the candidate(s) that receives the most votes is declared the winner, regardless of the proportion of votes that candidate(s) received.

Further information about the STV system is available on www.stv.govt.nz

Early Processing of Votes

Council resolved on 9 May 2013:

THAT Pursuant to Section 79 of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the returned voting documents for the 2013 Tasman District Council triennial elections be processed during the voting period.

This allows completed voting papers to be “processed” right from the time that they are received back from electors. Processing involves the envelopes being opened, the voting papers extracted, the votes for each candidate being recorded electronically, and the voting papers being kept in secure storage when not in the course of being processed. Each voting paper is processed twice, the second time by a different operator from the first - the purpose of this is to check the accuracy of the first processing. All early processing is carried out in the presence of a Justice of the Peace, who must certify whether or not the whole process has been carried out in compliance with the relevant Acts and Regulations. It is important to note that computer election results are time-locked until after midday on Saturday 12 October 2013.

Related Links

Further Information

For further information regarding these elections, please contact the Electoral Officer:

Sandra Hartley, Tasman District Council, Private Bag 4, Richmond, 7050, New Zealand

Phone: 03 543 8554 or Mark Tregurtha 03 543 7247

Fax: 03 543 9528

Email: sandra.hartley@tasman.govt.nz