Motueka Community Board By-Election 2017

A by-election for one member of the Motueka Community Board will be held on 17 February 2017. This page explains the timeline and the process.

During the 2016 Tasman District Council elections, Paul Hawkes was elected unopposed as a member of the Motueka Community Board and also as a Motueka Ward Councillor. He is required to take up the higher position of Councillor, leaving one vacancy on the Motueka Community Board.

By-Election Timetable

The key dates for the by-election are set out below.

Election Day is 17 February 2017.

Date Event
Wednesday 23 November 2016

Public Notice of By-election

Nominations open

Prelim roll open for inspection

Thursday 22 December 2016

Nominations close (noon)

Prelim electoral roll closes 

Tuesday 27 December 2016 Public notice of Day of By-election 
Thursday 26 January 2017

Delivery of voting documents commences

Progressive roll scrutiny

Early processing period starts

Special voting period starts 

Thursday 16 February 2017 Last day to appoint scrutineers (noon) 
Friday 17 February 2017

Election Day

Voting closes at noon - counting commences

Preliminary results available as soon as practicable 

by Thursday 23 February 2017  Official declaration
by Thursday 23 February 2017  Public notice of Declaration of Results
by Tuesday 19 April 2017  Return of electoral expense forms

Back to Top


Nominations for the vacant position on the Motueka Community Board have now closed.

Nomination forms will be available during this period:

Candidates must be nominated by two people, both of whom need to sign the nomination form. The nominees must be on the electoral roll for the Motueka Ward (they can either be on the residential or ratepayer roll for Motueka Ward). Candidates must also sign the nomination form. 

Candidates cannot nominate themselves for office. They can stand independently or under a party grouping or affiliation – similar to the process that political parties use in parliamentary elections.

Back to Top

Nominations Received

Listed below are the confirmed candidates for the by-election:

  • Clark, Maxwell (Refresh Tasman)
  • Dowler, Barry
  • Galvin, Matthew (Matthew for Motueka)
  • Pouri-Lane, Lealofi

Back to Top

Standing for Election

To be eligible to stand for election, a candidate must be:

  • A New Zealand citizen
  • Enrolled as a parliamentary elector anywhere in New Zealand

A candidate in the by-election needs to be nominated by two electors whose names appear on the Electoral Roll for the Motueka Ward.  Becoming a candidate costs $200 including GST.  This may be refunded, depending on how many votes the candidate receives.

Detailed candidate information booklets are available (phone the Electoral Officer to request a hard copy):

Back to Top

Residential/Ratepayer Rolls

The preliminary residential/ratepayer roll will be available for inspection from Wednesday 23 November 2016 and closes at 4.00pm on Thursday 22 December 2016.

Preliminary electoral rolls can be inspected at Council offices and libraries in Richmond and Motueka.

Final electoral rolls, used to post out voting documents to electors, can be inspected at Council offices and libraries during the voting period.

Back to Top

How do I Know if I'm Enrolled to Vote?

Motueka Ward Residents

If you’re a resident of Motueka Ward and already enrolled on the parliamentary electoral roll for the general election, you are automatically enrolled to vote in the by-election. 

If you’re not on the parliamentary electoral roll in Motueka Ward, you can enrol or change your contact details at the Electoral Commission website.

Non-resident Ratepayers

If you pay rates on a property in Motueka Ward but live outside this Ward, you may be eligible to enrol on the non-resident ratepayer electoral roll. A company or society paying property rates can also qualify as a ratepayer elector.

Non-resident ratepayer enrolment forms are available: 

Learn more about Enrolling to Vote  

Back to Top


Voting documents for the 2017 by-election will be posted out to all electors enrolled in the Motueka Ward between 26 and 31 January 2017.

Voting closes at noon on Friday 17 February 2017.

Only those residents and ratepayers who are registered electors in the Motueka Ward will receive voting papers and be entitled to vote.

If you have not received your voting papers by Wednesday 1 February 2017 and you are enrolled to vote, please contact Council to arrange a special vote.

Enrolments and special voting will be available at Council’s Richmond office during normal business hours.

Back to Top

Special Voting

Special Votes are available to electors:

  • whose names do not appear on the Final Electoral Roll, but who qualify as electors
  • who did not receive a voting paper previously posted to them
  • who spoil or damage a voting paper previously posted to them

Special Votes will be available from Thursday 26 January 2017, during normal business hours, to 12 noon, Friday 17 February 2017 at the Tasman District Council's Richmond office, 189 Queen Street, Richmond. Motueka Ward ratepayers who live outside the area and who are not listed on the final electoral roll for this By-Election can enrol at the Tasman District Council’s Richmond office up to 12 noon on Friday 17 February 2017.

Special Votes can be posted out directly to electors. The completed voting paper, however, must be in the hands of the Electoral Officer or the Deputy Electoral Officer by noon on election day, Friday 17 February 2017.

Please contact the Council on 03 543 8554 for assistance.

Special Votes require the completion of a statutory declaration. This is a legal requirements and a protection for electors against possible duplicate voting.

If an elector requests a Special Vote and is not on the Parliamentary Roll (e.g. just turned 18 years of age), the person must enrol on the Parliamentary Roll by Thursday 16 February 2017.

Back to Top

Voting System

The Motueka Ward By-Election will be held by postal vote and will be conducted using the First Past the Post (FPP) System. The FPP electoral system consists of the following:

  • Electors vote by indicating their preferred candidate with a tick
  • Voters must not tick more than the number of places to be filled
  • The candidate that receives the most votes is declared the winner, regardless of the proportion of votes that candidate obtained

Back to Top

Contact the Electoral Officer 

For further information regarding Motueka Community Board by-election, please contact:

  • Sandra Hartley  - Electoral Officer
  • Phone: 03 543 8554
  • Email:
  • 189 Queen Street, Richmond, Private Bag 4, Richmond, 7050

Back to Top