Notice of Election

Wednesday 17 July 2013

Tasman District Council elections will be held in October 2013.

Notice of Election, Nomination of Candidates and Enrolment Arrangements for the 2013 Tasman District Council Local Authority Elections

  • Election of ONE Mayor
  • Election of TWO members for the Golden Bay Ward
  • Election of ONE member for the Lakes-Murchison Ward
  • Election of THREE members for the Motueka Ward
  • Election of THREE members for the Moutere-Waimea Ward
  • Election of FOUR members for the Richmond Ward
  • Election of FOUR members for the Golden Bay Community Board
  • Election of FOUR members for the Motueka Community Board

Candidate names will be listed in alphabetical order on the voting documents.


Nominations for the above positions open on Friday 19 July 2013 and must be made on the appropriate nomination paper for each position. Nomination forms are available from the Council’s Office, all Service Centres or by request from the Electoral Officer.

Completed nomination documents must be received by the Electoral Officer no later than 12 noon on Friday 16 August 2013. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of $200 incl GST, payable by eftpos, cash, cheque or on-line banking (see candidate handbook for requirements – available for collection with the nomination papers).

Candidates are encouraged to submit a candidate profile statement and photograph for sending out with voting documents to electors. The requirements for profile statements and photos are set out in the candidate handbook.

The rules for lodgement of nomination documents (nomination paper, candidate profile, photo and deposit) have now changed. All documents must now be lodged together. Candidates should refer to the candidate handbook for further details.

Electoral Rolls

Preliminary electoral rolls for the 2013 elections can be inspected at the following locations during normal office hours from Friday 19 July 2013 to Friday 16 August 2013:

  • Tasman District Council Office, 189 Queen Street, Richmond
  • Motueka Service Centre, 7 Hickmott Place, Motueka
  • Takaka Service Centre, 78 Commercial Street, Takaka
  • Murchison Service Centre, 92 Fairfax Street, Murchison
  • Tasman District Library, 280 Queen Street, Richmond
  • Motueka Public Library, 12 Pah Street, Motueka
  • Takaka Memorial Library, 3 Junction Street, Takaka
  • Collingwood Community Library, Collingwood
  • Mapua Community Library, Mapua
  • Tapawera Community Library, Tapawera
  • Wakefield Community Library, Wakefield
  • Department of Conservation Visitor Centre at St Arnaud

Electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by:

  • Completing an enrolment form available at PostShops, Libraries and Council’s Offices and Service Centres
  • Calling 0800 ENROL NOW (0800 36 76 56)
  • Visiting the Elections website (

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 5.00 pm on Friday 16 August 2013.

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non-resident ratepayer elector enrolment form available from the Electoral Officer or from Council’s website and must be returned to the relevant Council Electoral Officer before 5.00 pm Friday 16 August 2013.

Sandra Hartley, Electoral Officer

Electoral Officer – Tasman District Council, Private Bag 4, Richmond 7050, Email:, Phone 03 543 8400.