Road Closures for Events

Thursday 21 September 2017

This page lists temporary road closures and tells you how to make an objection to a proposed closure.

Proposed Road Closures

ApplicantEventLocation of Road ClosureDate & Time of Road ClosureDate Objections Close

Nelson Car Club

Phil Fiddymont Memorial Rallysprint

Pigeon Valley Road (from the intersection with Sharp Road to the intersection with Dovedale Road);

Dovedale Road (from the intersection with Pigeon Valley Road to number 409 Dovedale Road)

Saturday 28 October 2017

Saturday 30 September 2017

Nelson Drag Racing Association

Drag racing

Queen Victoria Street (from King Edward Street to Green Lane)

Saturday 4 November 2017, 7.30am to 4.00pm

Friday 6 October 2017

Richmond Unlimited

Richmond Santa Parade

Warring Carpark, Petrie/Harkness Carpark, Papps Carpark and Sundial Square Carpark – will be closed from 6.30am to approx. 2.00pm

Oxford Street (from Cambridge Street to Wensley Road) – on street car parks will be closed from 6.30am to approx. 2.00pm; section of road will be closed from 11.00am to approx. 2.00pm

Cambridge Street (from Oxford Street to Queen Street) - on street car parks will be closed from 6.30am to approx. 2.00pm; section of road will be closed from 11.00am to approx. 2.00pm

Queen Street (from Sundial Square to McIndoe Place) - on street car parks will be closed from 6.30am to approx. 2.00pm; section of road will be closed from 11.00am to approx.. 2.00pm

McIndoe Place (for the entire length) - will be closed from 11.00am to approx. 2.00pm

Please note – other sections of Queen Street may be closed due to the Queen Street upgrade work.

Sunday 26 November 2017, various closures will be in place from approximately 6.30am to 4.00pm  Saturday 28 October 2017
Nelson Drag Racing Association Drag racing Queen Victoria Street (from King Edward Street to Green Lane)

Saturday 20 January 2018, 7.30am to 4.00pm.

Rain date - Sunday 21 January 2018, 7.30am to 4.00pm

Friday 22 December 2017
Nelson Drag Racing Association Drag racing Queen Victoria Street (from King Edward Street to Green Lane) Saturday 24 February 2018, 7.30am to 4.00pm. Friday 26 January 2018
Nelson Drag Racing Association Drag racing Queen Victoria Street (from King Edward Street to Green Lane)

Saturday 31 March 2018, 7.30am to 4.00pm.

Rain date - Sunday 1 April 2018, 7.30am to 4.00pm

Friday 2 March 2018

How to Make an Objection

If you would like to object, just write to us. Please include the applicant name and the date of the event and your reasons for objecting.

  • 189 Queen Street, Private Bag 4, Richmond, Nelson 7050
  • Phone 03 543 8400
  • Fax 03 543 9524
  • Email: info@tasman.govt.nz

Finalised Road Closures

ApplicantEventLocation of Road ClosureDate & Time of Road Closure

Nelson Car Club

Redwood Road event Redwood Road (200m from the State Highway and 200m from the Moutere Highway Sunday 1 October 2017, 9am to 5pm

National Advanced Drivers School Ltd

Driver training

Marchwood Park Road

Tuesday 10 October, Wednesday 11 October and Thursday 12 October 2017, 10am to 3.00pm

Hawkins Infrastructure (NZ) Ltd and Tasman District Council

Contract 967 - Richmond Queen Street Infrastructure

Queen Street, Richmond

(There will be various closures during this project. Please check this website for information as the project progresses.)

Tuesday 7 February 2017 to 2 December 2017, 24 hours