This section provies information about iwi in Te Tau Ihu, the top of the South Island.

Te Tau Ihu Iwi

Eight iwi (tribes) are tangata whenua (people of the land) in Te Tau Ihu (top of the South Island):

  • Ngāti Kuia
  • Ngāti Rārua
  • Ngāti Tama ki Te Tau Ihu
  • Te Ātiawa o Te Waka-a-Māui
  • Ngāti Kōata
  • Ngāti Toa Rangatira
  • Ngāti Apa ki te Rā Tō
  • Rangitāne o Wairau

Tasman District also covers the northern part of the Ngāi Tahu takiwā (tribal area/territory).

Statutory Acknowledgements

A statutory acknowledgment is legal recognition of the particular cultural, spiritual, historical and traditional association of an iwi with an identified statutory area.


The Māori population has increased steadily in the last ten years. As at the 2013 Census there were 3,438 Māori  in the Tasman District - a 12% increase since 2006.

Māori History

Read a brief history of Māori in the Tasman District.

Iwi Trusts and Māori Organisations

Contact details for a range of iwi, business and social organisations.

Brief History of Te Tau Ihu Iwi

Read a brief account of the tangata whenua of the top of the South Island.


Details of marae in the region.

Māori Online Resources

Links to Government and local resources - directories, indexes, Waitangi Tribunal decisions and websites.

Kaumātua - Archdeacon Andy Joseph

Kaumātua Archdeacon Andy Joseph provides the Mayor and Elected Members with support around tikanga Māori.

Read more about the role of Kaumātua


Statement on Fostering Māori Participation in Council Decision-Making

This statement outlines the steps Council intends to take to foster Māori capacity to contribute to Council decision-making processes during the current Long Term Plan.

Statement of Fostering Maori Participation in Council Decision Making 2018