Electoral wards

There are five wards used for voting in Tasman District - Golden Bay, Lakes-Murchison, Mouteka, Moutere-Waimea and Richmond.

Region covered by Tasman District

The Tasman District covers 9,786 square kilometres and is bounded to the west by the Matiri Ranges, Tasman Mountains and the Tasman Sea.

To the north Tasman and Golden Bays form its seaward edge, and the eastern boundary reaches the Spencer Mountains and the St Arnaud and Richmond Ranges to the southern boundary of the Victoria Ranges.

Five wards, two community boards

Within this area there are five wards and 17 settlements. The largest ward, Richmond, borders Nelson in the north of the region. 

Takaka and Motueka also have elected community boards.

Please note the following section of content is possibly being delivered from an external source (IFRAME in HTML terms), and may present unusual experiences for screen readers.
  • Takaka
  • Pohara/Ligar Bay/Tata Beach/Tarakohe
  • Collingwood

Lakes-Murchison Ward

  • Murchison
  • St Arnaud
  • Tapawera

Motueka Ward

  • Motueka
  • Kaiteriteri
  • Marahau
  • Riwaka

Moutere-Waimea Ward

  • Brightwater
  • Coastal Tasman
  • Mapua/Ruby Bay
  • Tasman Village
  • Upper Moutere
  • Wakefield

Richmond Ward

The settlement of Richmond, the largest in the District, is a ward in its own right.

  • Richmond

Online ward finder

View the Stats NZ ward-finding map tool on their website(external link)


Need help?

For further information regarding Tasman District Council elections and by-elections, please contact:

  • Sandra Hartley - Electoral Officer
  • Phone: 03 543 8554
  • Email: sandra.hartley@tasman.govt.nz
  • 189 Queen Street, Richmond, Private Bag 4, Richmond, 7050

Related pages